bannerimage

Follow animatedknots on Twitter

Welcome to Animated Knots by Grog

World #1 Knot Site. Better to know a knot and not need it, than need a knot and not know it.

All Testimonials

Contributions from Visitors

Current List

This list contains 141 testimonials. They are a sample of the several hundred I have received in the last few years. Apart from correcting the occasional typographical error, they haven't been altered. Return to Random Selection.

Obviously I appreciate all the feedback I have recieved but I if I had to pick out just one, I think the prize would go to Janet from Australia for her enthusiasm and for her spectacular use of English.

  • Al. (Wednesday, February 8, 2006 5:05 pm)

    Mainly I just think it's the most useful website I've ever seen.

  • Alan P. (Monday, August 28, 2006 6:00 pm)

    My highest compliments to you for your work in putting the site together. It is one of the best, if not the very best, site I have ever visited. Thanks for your work.

  • Alan W. (Sunday, August 6, 2006 9:58 am)

    Just wanted to say thanks for your great rope web site. I have been struggling with info on several climbing knots and your web site ALWAYS has the right answers and great photos to guide me the first time through. Probably the best all around knot making web site on the Internet. Good work sir!

  • Alastair M. (Sunday, September 17, 2006 4:51 am)

    What a fantastic website! I am trying to teach my son how to tie a number of different knots, this helps me greatly.

  • Alex. (Monday, April 23, 2012 2:17 am)

    This has got to be one of the most useful sites I've found. I immediately bought the app for my iPhone. Great work and thanks!

  • Andre N. (Monday, February 8, 2016 at 8:09 pm)

    You have built yourself an amazing website. Your IOS app is just as wonderful. It takes a lot for me to spend money on an app, and that was one I absolutely did not regret. Thank you so much for the wealth of information you have provided me.

  • Andrew P. (Friday, September 29, 2006 7:53 am)

    Quite simply a stunning web site, abolutely fantastic. I particularly like the rope care section.

  • Andy L. (Wednesday, April 5, 2006 8:20 am)

    Incredible, wonderful site. Terrific descriptions and animations of knots. I have it bookmarked and will come back time and again to improve my knowledge and skills. Thanks for making the www such a great place.

  • Andy S. (Wednesday, March 15, 2006 8:49 am)

    Your site is a godsend. As a basic firefighting instructor here in Westchester County (NY), I know one of the most difficult parts of the course for new recruits is knot tying. We're starting a new class in April - we fully intend to turn people on to your site. Will keep you informed as to our progress - thanks again.

  • Anthony H. (Saturday, October 27, 2012 9:22 am)

    I hope I am not wasting any time. However, due to the perfect timing in which I discovered your site as well as the most creative/user friendly tutorials, I felt compelled to send a sincere Thank You very much. I appreciate your dedication towards this site, and as you have extraordinarily helped me, I intend to do the same in purchasing your download. Thank you again. You have no idea how grateful I am for this site.

  • Benjamin. (Friday, January 6, 2006 4:30 pm)

    This website is fantastic!

  • Benjamin J. (Friday, August 18, 2006 12:50 pm)

    I think you have a amazing site! I showed it to some of my instructors and they agree. It definitely makes it easier to practice tying the knots when your not in the classroom.

  • Benji F. (Tuesday, September 26, 2006 8:50 am)

    Thanks for a very cool and educational site.

  • Bill H. (Thursday, February 16, 2006 4:01 pm)

    This is a great web-site! It is practical, comprehensive, and easy to use. - - Police, Fire, Boy Scouts and outdoor/marine training classes should find your work extremely useful... Well Done!!!

  • Bill S. (Tuesday, October 24, 2006 8:02 am)

    A word of praise for your fine work. I'm a nordic ski patroller and will recommend this site for training our new patrollers. This is the best around!

  • Bob B. (Tuesday, March 14, 2006 6:52 pm)

    Thanks for your great website! I am a Scout Leader and the Scouts will get a huge benefit from your efforts.

  • Brian P. (Wednesday, August 2, 2006 12:56 pm )

    Great web site. Your comments about the rolling (tautline) hitch and "tucking" explained why my tautlines always slipped. Thanks!

  • Burt K. (Saturday, October 7, 2006 10:32 am)

    Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Carl Z. (Friday, January 20, 2006 9:00 am)

    I am a knot head. Love your animated knot section. Haven't seen anything that even comes close

  • Carol C. (Thursday, September 13, 2007 1:18 pm)

    I adore your site. I have been knot tying as a hobby for at least ten years and I think your site is a real treasure. Thank you so much for all your hard work!

  • Charles B. (Thursday, August 3, 2006 5:28 pm)

    What a great site!! I can't wait for my boys to begin using it. Our website is: www.xxxxxxxx. Thanks for all your great work

  • Chris. (Saturday, July 23, 2005 8:42 pm)

    Thanks for making such a great site on knots. The information and illustrations are outstanding, just what I needed!

  • Chris M. (Monday, July 31, 2006 3:07 pm)

    Just wanted to drop a line and tell you how much I've benefited from your site. Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. The step-by-step written procedures are clear and concise. The frame-by-frame photographs are truly priceless (worth more than a thousand words). The application info and background information is useful and interesting. Great job!

  • Chuck S. (Monday, April 3, 2006 8:41 pm)

    I've been teaching Tech Theatre and Stage Lighting for 32+ years and NEVER have I seen such an informative source. Your work WILL go into the future with my students...and home with me. Thanks for making my life easier and safer!

  • Curtis I. (Tuesday, October 24, 2006 7:45 AM)

    Very impressive. What else can I say.

  • Curtis M. (Thursday, January 26, 2006 9:11 am)

    I'm not sure where you got the inspiration or the resources to put together such a wonderful knot learning tool but it is simply amazing! The animation on the truckers hitch is PHENOMENAL! Good work! Kudos! And my most sincere thank you for all the work you put into this.

  • Cynthia C. (Thursday, November 10, 2011 9:45 am)

    I ABSOLUTELY love this site. I hope, in the near future, to buy your CDs...INCREDIBLE!! I work with young children as a speech and language therapist. They require so many skills. Knowing what the knots are used for, when they are NOT to be used, learning a practical skill and still being able to teach them comprehension, skill sequencing, particular linguistic concepts, and fine motor skills while "chatting" is perfect. I love, of course, my ability to show a step over and over, carefully pointing out the changes from one to the other. Thank you, very much.

  • Dan. (Tuesday, March 26, 2013 11:19 am)

    Hi. I work as a rigger in the entertainment industry. I cannot tell you how your site has helped so many of the new guys over the years. I first came to your site when you only had 3 or 4 choices at the top. I have shared your site with hundreds of people around the world when I was on tour. Thank you so much for this site and making it free, and easy to follow along.

  • Daniel M. (Saturday, July 1, 2017 2:41 am)

    Thank you very much for the excellent "Animated Knots by Grog." You have enabled me to revise, to re-learn some knots that I had forgotten and to learn some new ones. The animated format is the best on the web. Well done!

  • Danno C. (Sunday, October 1, 2006 2:53 am)

    Your site is amazing. I was actually looking for tutorials on splicing (which you don't seem to have many of) - but! - your site is the best overall rope, knots and splicing site I've seen to date.

  • Danilo R. (Thursday, August 31, 2006 9:13 pm)

    Congratulations for your so interesting site.David A

  • Dave B. (Thursday, October 5, 2006 1:50 am)

    What an awesome site. Thank you for such a great job. Scouting kids love it. Tie a knot in your tie . . . for doing such a good turn.

  • Dave M. (Wednesday, October 4, 2006 5:33 pm)

    What a fantastic site you have, my son came home from cubs tonight full of knots so to speak. Coming from a farming back ground I've used rope and knots all my life however many are now long forgotten so jumped on google and found your site. Top marks! I was looking forward to teaching him some knots, and you have made it sooooo much easier.

  • David A. (Saturday, January 7, 2006 11:06 am)

    This is the greatest site that I have visited ever.

  • David B. (Wednesday, February 27, 2013 3:20 pm)

    I just wanted to say that this is by far the best website for demonstrating how to tie knots I've ever seen. The animated shots of different stages during the tying process are nothing short of a stroke of genius. Not to mention the fact that the photos are very clear well done.

  • David C. (Thursday, February 16, 2006 10:23 am)

    What you have done here is amazing.

  • David H. (Sunday, July 16, 2006 2:51 am)

    Great site! I've been a fan for a couple of years now & spread the word to all who I think would like it.

  • David M. (Saturday, August 19, 2006 5:37 pm)

    I've just come across your site, which I think is absolutely brilliant! Thank you!

  • David S. (Sunday, August 4, 2013 10:48 am)

    I am SO impressed by the iPad app for $5. Since I take my iPad sailing and fishing with me, using Navionics and GPS to navigate, your knot tutorials are always handy and clear to understand. Thanks a million!

  • David S. (Sunday, October 3, 2010 at 5:48 pm)

    I would like to thank you for providing a very impressive resource and as a new fly fisherman and aborist, I use the product daily. After months of wasting time on the internet, I now have a usefull tool that has cost me the same as a cheap bottle of wine. Good on yuh!

  • David S. (Tuesday, March 21, 2006 5:27 pm)

    I just wanted to express my appreciation for your excellent knot page. I am a sailing psychiatrist living in Queensland, Australia, having trained in Bristol, UK. My crew have all been directed to your site for instruction.

  • David St. (Saturday, January 6, 2007 11:00 pm)

    This is an awesome site! As both an arborist and Boy Scout, I wish this site had been done sooner. This looks to be a site I will be passing on. YOU ROCK GROG!

  • Dean W. (Thursday, August 31, 2006 9:42 am)

    I love your site. It is a perfect way to learn about knots and is much advantageous over books.

  • Dennis. (Wednesday, July 13, 2011 at 1:05 am)

    In my humble opinion, this is one of the best sites on the internet.

  • Derek L. (Tuesday, January 24, 2006 1:17 am)

    Thank you for making such a first rate site. It is so outstanding, I show it to almost anyone who will listen. It has been a great benefit to me and has spurred my interest in knotting.

  • Don R. (Tuesday, September 17, 2013 5:57 pm)

    I bought a small fish & ski boat this year, and began learning about knots using your website and then the download. Little did I know how incredibly useful it would be. Recently, I was forced to tie my boat up overnight during a storm, but using the knots I had learned, everything worked out fine. Thanks so much for this great resource!

  • Doug P. (Wednesday, January 25, 2006 11:19 pm)

    WOW! Your website is absolutely stunning! I really like the real photographs used as demonstrations as well as the way you have animated it and matched the animation to the description. Well done!

  • Dylan M. (†Wednesday, February 29, 2012 5:05 pm)

    Thanks for this great service. I have used it every day for the last 2 weeks to learn most of the knots you have on your site. I've referred several friends and brothers to your site. Your animations are the easiest method I've used to learn knots. I'd love to see more additions. Please keep it up!!!

  • Earl F. (Saturday, February 18, 2006 1:51 pm)

    Wow. This is the best site that I have come across in a long time. The graphics and the accompanying written descriptions are great. I will be sending all of my rope rescue students to this site and will include a referrence to it in my rescue manual.

  • Ed E. (Saturday, December 17, 2005 9:19 pm)

    I am a long time student of knots and have been tying decorative and practical knots for 35 years. I also did lots of climbing in my younger days. Your site was sent to me by my old climbing partner and I just wanted to complement you on the best knots website I've seen. Are you into braiding and turk's heads? Anyway just wanted to complement you on a terrific use of technology to bring life to an old craft - congratulations and happy holidays.

  • Ed W. (Tuesday, October 24, 2006 2:56 pm)

    Excellent,Excellent, Excellent!!!!!! Great resource for us dummy's out there that don't tie knots that often to use as a refresher.

  • Eric H. (Sunday, April 16, 2006 1:59 pm)

    This is a great site. It is the clearest presentation of how to ties the knots that I've seen and I've recommended to my knotically challenged sailing buddies.

  • Fred C. (Saturday, May 27, 2017 1:04 pm)

    I belong to a volunteer search and rescue group on Vancouver Island. We are volunteers in the tradition of the RNLI and the US Coast Guard Aux. As part of our training for new crew we use your web site as reference material. Definitely the "go to" web site to learn knots and rope work, and to refresh lessons of long ago.

  • Frank. (Sunday, October 8, 2006 10:32 am)

    This is the best sight i have ever found to help me enjoy boating and fishing. Thank you

  • Gary G. (Monday, April 17, 2006 3:42 pm)

    This is one of the very best web sites I have ever visited. Thanks for the great information. Others should follow your lead.

  • Gavin McG. (Tuesday, August 15, 2006 7:07 am)

    . . . . this beats everything I've ever seen. I can't wait to get back next week and tell the troup what I have found.

  • Greg. (Monday, October 23, 2006 4:20 pm)

    This site is wonderful, I teach a Pioneering weekend for boy scouts and this will come in handy for training, and retraining my staff. Keep up the good work.

  • Greg F. (Friday, December 9, 2005 10:52 pm)

    Your Animated Knots site is simply fantastic! I've been sailing, climbing, and participating in search and rescue for years so know the knots well...but even I learned a few new ones from you!

  • Greg M. (Wednesday, October 27, 2010 at 4:38 pm)

    I still teach knots and rescue rope work to the younger fellows on the local rescue squads and on my own team, and I love your site! I first found it about 10 years ago and recommend it to all who wish to learn knots in a simple, easy-to-understand manner.

  • Hannes T. (Thursday, September 7, 2006 10:06 am)

    Hands down the best site I've ever visted. Well done!

  • Harrison D. (Sunday, April 16, 2006 10:37 am )

    No need to reply. Our local paper (Valley News, West Lebanon, NH) had an article which listed animatedknots.com as the best site of the week. I might have said best site of the year. Crisply designed, concise explanations, and of course splendid animation makes this site superb. Ironically I had just started my daily rant about the "death of practical knowledge" thanks to TV, x-boxes, i-pods and other virtual pursuits, when along comes animatedknots.com and makes me realize that the internet CAN be used to restore what our grand parents knew and did every day of their practical lives.

  • Ian D. (Friday, January 5, 2007 11:39 am)

    Fantastic site. We have links to your site through ours and if possible would like one back. I hope to hear from you soon as I would like you do do a few knots which are very popular in England for carp fishing.

  • Jack R. (Tuesday, September 12, 2006 10:58 pm)

    This is the very best instructions on tying knots that I have ever seen. I am an experienced sailor and mountain climber. I have sent your web site address to a number of people and they were all truely amazed !!! GOOD WORK !!

  • James F. (Tuesday, August 29, 2006 1:18 pm)

    I currently teach EMS and Firefighting at our local college. Your site has been utilized many times in and out of class. It has really made learning knots easy. Thanks....

  • Janet A. (Friday, December 2, 2005 11:50 pm)

    Absolutely Mucking Afazing! I lead Cub Scouts for 10 years, I do wish we had this site then. And your Stereo site, I thought I'd died and gone to Heaven. Now my hubby sees what I see when I stare at our bathroom tiles - 4 different layers - thank you. It was brilliant. Damn good work.

  • Javier G. (Tuesday, August 1, 2006 3:30 pm)

    Your animated knots site is absolutely fantastic! Information is amazingly complete, very clear and useful. The site design could hardly be better for its purpose. I will be visiting very often to practice my knots and learn new ones. Congratulations, and continue with the good work!

  • Jeff J. (Wednesday, October 4, 2006 12:24 pm)

    Your site will help me fulfill a lifelong goal - Learn how to tie useful knots. I plan to learn these together with my sons.

  • Jeffrey. (Wednesday, June 4, 2014 5:38 pm)

    I was a stagehand for 25+ years and have fished most of my life so I've used a knot or two in that time. Wanted to say that this is the best app of it's kind I've seen. Well worth the money spent. Thanks.

  • Jeremy B. (Saturday, October 30, 2010 9:04 am)

    Congratulations on such an ambitious site - and on gaining such a high traffic ranking

  • Jim J. (Wednesday, October 18, 2006 10:27 am)

    What a great site. I am referring folks to this particularly for some of your climbing knots. I promote safe tree climbing for hunters.

  • Jim T. (Tuesday, September 12, 2006 8:16 pm)

    Just found this page and love it!! The animations are amazing and the reason for this e-mail. I am a Fire Service Instructor and teach ropes and knots.

  • Joe F. (Thursday, September 21, 2006 6:28 pm)

    Great Site! - really a pleasure to use.

  • John S. (Friday, April 7, 2006 12:51 am)

    I think your site is brilliant. Congratulations.

  • John T. (Saturday, February 20, 2016 11:08 am)

    Thanks for one of the most wonderful sites on the internet!

  • John T. (Friday, January 5, 2007 10:49 pm)

    Great website, great work. The world needs more teaching aids like this.

  • Jon H. (Thursday, October 12, 2006 3:39 pm)

    Thanks! This is probably the best website I have ever seen in my life. My friend Gary and I thank you. Good job.

  • Jorge E. (Friday, March 7, 2014 at 12:37 am)

    Just wanted to congratulate you on a superb site! Very well done, thank you for this. I will play with this for a good while. Very useful. Congratulations, again.

  • Josh M. (Sunday, September 24, 2006 9:31 pm)

    I love your site thanks for all the info!

  • Kate C. (Friday, September 1, 2006 11:19 pm)

    Thank you so much! You give fantastic directions, and BTW, I love your site. I'm going to forward it to everyone I know. Thanks again. Katie

  • Ken G. (Friday, November 5, 2010 at 12:29 pm)

    We suggest your site whenever a customer needs help with a knot.I personally love the step by step animation.

  • Kyle H. (Friday, September 8, 2006 12:56 am)

    Just wanted to say thanks for the site. I'm leading a den of cub scouts, and flunked "knot tying 101" as a child. Your animated knots helped me understand WHY the knots work the way they do, and I now feel confident it teaching my own youngsters.

  • Liane L. (Saturday, September 24, 2005 9:16 pm)

    I think your site is absolutely stellar! Up until I found it about two years ago now, I was at a loss and was thinking of building my own knot tying section. There were several reasonable sites on the internet, but so many of them had mistakes as you mention on your family site which I found very annoying.

    Anyway, after finding your site, I realized I wouldn't have to go to all the bother. You did a really wonderful job and yours is by far the best knot resource on the internet! In fact, on the weekends, I teach sailing to underprivileged local kids from 9 to 18. I often take my laptop with me for those who are not able to catch on to how to tie a bowline properly. I sit them down in front of the computer and make them go through your photos, step by step until they finally get it. It's one of the best teaching tools I have in my bag of tricks! .

    Cudos for a very well done site! I am currently working on my web site great way to spend your Saturday night and feel it is important for sites like mine to provide the best possible information available to our prospective customers. Many thanks for your efforts!

  • Lief. (Mon, May 30, 2011 at 12:32 pm)

    Thank you for providing a wonderful resource! You guys are the best.

  • Lowell Y. (Tuesday, August 15, 2006 4:01 pm)

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your knot website is an answer to my prayers. I was a Scouter for 13 years, and wish this site was available then. I have spent many hours teaching my sons and other Boy Scouts the proper way to tie the knots, that you so nicely illustrate. I am now a vertical caver, and am into Cave Rescue. Your Climbing, and Rescue pages have been very useful in training new people whose lives including my own, and others often depend on their ability to tie knots properly.

  • Luis. (Monday, May 26, 2014 7:32 pm)

    I just wanted to drop you a quick note to say how thoroughly IMPRESSED I am by your website. All this information, the way it's organized, the how-to step by step, WAY TO GO!!! Double thumbs up from here!

  • Magnus S. (Wednesday, October 25, 2006 4:04 am)

    Hi - your site is fantastic! At last, a decent way to teach a knot - watching it tie itself in slow-motion! Books never could do this properly. I've been sailing for years, and can even tie a shamrock knot, but never did get the hang of a rolling hitch until your site showed me. Thanks.

  • Manurup. (Wednesday, October 4, 2006 2:59 pm)

    Hi, first of all congratulations for creating the best site ever about knots!!!

  • Mark D.. (Saturday, March 25, 2006 12:54 pm)

    I have to pass along my compliments as this is perhaps the best organized web site I have ever seen. I have an afinity for knots as a retired Chief Warrant Officer Boatswain from the Coast Guard. I think this is an extremely well organized and easy to use site for anyone. Keep up the great work.

  • Martin S. (Wednesday, September 13, 2006 7:27 am)

    I came across your knot page. As a longtime (50 years +/-) student of the subject I found it brilliant. I do not understand how all this is done on a computer but it is really wonderful. I hope lots of kids come across the instructions.

  • Matt A. (Wednesday, February 17, 2016 2:18 am)

    Just a show of appreciation for all your hard work and this amazing site... To everyone involved... Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Mauricio O. (Monday, September 18, 2006 10:01 pm)

    I just want to thank for your contribution. Your webpage is one of the most valuable and interesting I've seen.

  • Michael S. (Tuesday, March 7, 2006 4:02 pm)

    Just a quick note to let you know that we're great admirers of your animated knots website. In addition to being exceptionally clear and informative, the website's look & feel/style is a joy to behold.

  • Mike C. (Monday, February 24, 2014 6:44 pm)

    Just a quick note to say that I loved your site so much, I didn't think twice to buy the app for Android. Perfect thing for us Sea Cadet instructors! Thank you! :)

  • Mike J. (Thursday, February 9, 2006 4:40 pm)

    What an absolutely fabulous web site!!! I'm going to advise all my canoeing friends about it so we can learn the knots we need to know! Thanks.

  • Mike H. (Wednesday, May 22, 2013 2:20 pm)

    I bought Animated Knots about 2 weeks ago; I just love it. I am an industrial Electrician w/30 years experience. I was looking for a web harness, and I found your Hasty Harness; sometimes you just do not have enough harnesses on the job site. Your Hasty Harness is very comfortable. I also like your splicing section: eye splice, back splice, and short splice; most books do not cover these very well or at all; electricians use splices when pulling wire in conduits, most knots will not fit down the conduit when pulling wire w/ the rope. Thanks for a great product,

  • Mike P. (Wednesday, May 24, 2006 11:03 am)

    Your site is a fantastic resource. I am responsible for a state university's outdoor recreation and challenge programs. If it's okay with you, I would like to use your website as resource for all staff and participants.

  • Mike R.. (Sunday, March 5, 2006 10:05 pm)

    Hey good job on this site. It is most definitely one of a kind. I just wanted to say I'm a Baltimore county firefighter who is curently in a rescue technician ropes class and your site is making knot tying very easy. Keep up the good work.

  • Nathan. (Monday, July 24, 2006 9:02 pm)

    This is an incredible site and one I think the visitors to our website would really enjoy. Please may we trade traffic? I am added a link to our website now. Best Regards.

  • Nick B. (Monday, October 2, 2006 11:19 pm)

    Great site! I use it for my cadets (Sea Cadets in UK)

  • Nicole. (Saturday, July 8, 2006 2:44 pm)

    This is great! As a new girl scout leader eager to encourage my troop, ages 9 - 15, to develop serious outdoor skills your web site is fantastic! I am able to practice difficult knots and will now demonstrate them with confidence. Thank you for taking the time to make this available.

  • Paul B. (Sunday, April 2, 2006 11:42 am)

    I just want to write to thank you for a wonderful website on knot tying. I'm a Boy Scout leader with a lot of newer scouts, and with this tool I can project the animation onto a movie screen for the boys to watch & learn just how to tie the knots they have to learn. Once again, thank you for providing such a wonderful site.

  • Paul D. (Tuesday, May 31, 2011, 9:50 am)

    Your site is by far the best I have seen on knots. Thanks for your excellent work!

  • Peter B. (Tuesday, December 28, 2010 at 8:28 pm)

    WOW. great site. My new years res was to learn maps/compass and how to knots. I am so glad I found your site,it is great and free. I feel like I want to get an i Phone just to have this app

  • Phil M. (Friday, February 10, 2006 8:12 pm)

    Animatedknots is an excellent site! I have long been fascinated by knots Thanks for all the wonderful work. We'd like to link it.

  • Pia C. (Thursday, July 6, 2006 3:21 pm)

    Great website I am a Scouter working on my Woodbadge Ticket. This is the best site for knots for the scouts. Thanks! Now the older scouts have a great resource to go to when they need it.

  • Ray B. (Monday, October 9, 2006 9:40 am)

    Incredible! One of the most useful sites on the web... Thank You from Troop ---, MA

  • Ray C. (Monday, September 25, 2006 1:33 pm)

    Your site is outstanding!

  • Richard R. (Wednesday, December 28, 2005 10:50 am)

    I just discovered your animated knots website; it's marvelous! I can't wait to get home now to try doing an eye splice. You make it look easy! I really like the general design of your website as well. Very eye-friendly and easy to navigate. Well done! Thanks for sharing this. I'm a fellow sailor.

  • Richard W. (Friday, June 3, 2016 9:45 pm)

    What a wonderful website that you have created. Your diagrams, the descriptions of the knots and their usages, terminology, everything, have just the right amount of information. Clear and easy-to-use. I've bookmarked your website for future reference and now I'm going to wander around the house to see what else I can tie up. Thank you.

  • Rick. (Wednesday, October 4, 2006 7:45 pm)

    its the best site with the best graphics I have ever seen. How long has your page been in existance? can I send others by link to your page?

  • Rick (#2). (Saturday, July 16, 2011 at 3:31 pm)

    Great website. I just tied my first chain splice ever! And I am 61 years old. I carried my IPad down to my Marina on the Mississippi River near LeClaire, IA. Piece of cake. The old knot was only holding by one strand. I saved about $400 by not purchasing a new pre-tied rode.

  • Rick H. (Tuesday, February 7, 2006 8:56 am)

    This has got to be THE BEST site I have ever seen when it comes to rope and knots! Keep up the good work guys!

  • Rick W. (Wednesday, September 7, 2005 7:40 pm)

    Top site! The best on the 'interweb' as we call it here. I think special emphasis should be made to the 'rolling hitch'. This is THE knot.

  • Rob O. (Sunday, October 29, 2006 4:24 am)

    I have very few daily needs for knots. The bowline is the most complicated I ever remembered from my college Sunfish sailing days. Your site, however, has inspired me to master at least a few more. It's clean elegant design, fantastic animations and authoritative commentary is simply amazing. I work in website maintenance and see many sites (as research) and strive to encourage my client's content providers to make websites like yours. Keep up the great site, and be sure that when I need a good knot, I will have learned from you.

  • Robert J. (Sunday, June 25, 2006 2:49 pm)

    Your web site on ropes is the best that I have seen.

  • Robert W. (Friday, November 19, 2010 at 3:25 am)

    Hi,I downloaded a copy of your animated knots for a windows. I am very impressed

  • Roberta M. (Friday, October 29, 2010 at 6:49 am)

    A friend of mine has this program on his iphone. I love it. When will you come out with a version for the Blackberry Torch?

  • Robin U. (Monday, September 17, 2007 3:21 pm)

    I have used this site several times. As a tradesman(millwright), knot tying is one way to safely secure loads. I recommended the site to our instructors, and it has been an invaluable resource for them! Thank you!

  • Ron E. (Saturday, April 22, 2006 10:27 pm)

    Great Site. Appreciate the hard work put into your site.

  • Rudy D. (Tuesday, November 21, 2006 5:14 pm)

    Thank you for by far the very best educational tool that the fire and emergency services has seen to date. This site has solved the "mystery" of knots, not only in the fire-rescue community, bur in the Urban Search and Rescue field as well. Having over twenty plus years of educational experience in the emergency services, the greatest challenge for firefighters that I have seen is the ability to retain the knot tying skills they learned as recruits. You have certainly solved the problem.

  • Russell R. (Wednesday, November 22, 2006 1:46 pm)

    My first time to your site, but will not be my last. An outstanding site for beginners and old timers alike. I am sending your site address to my grandsons who are avid fishermen. As for me, I enjoyed the "boating" section since my wife and I sail.

  • Shelley B. (Wednesday, October 4, 2006 2:35 pm)

    I love this website. As a new sailor, and one who knows nothing about knots, I believe I will come back again and again to this website to learn. Thanks!

  • Skip J. (Wednesday, August 30, 2006 12:13 am)

    Hi There! This is the neatest thing! It is GREAT!

  • Steve M. (Sunday, July 24, 2011 at 10:36 pm)

    FANTASTIC SITE !!!!! You have done a great job. I have been fishing and boating for 40+ years and tried to explain so many knots... My wife and I recently took a college class (field science and investigation) that concluded with a ten day trip on the A.T. and back country through NC. Georgia and Tenn. Part of our grade was based on knot tying which was taught in class, hands on. This makes it so much easier to understand the basics. We have forwarded the website to our professors to help teach the 19 year olds using your outstanding examples.... Thank you so much.

  • Stuart F. (Wednesday, September 20, 2006 1:26 pm)

    Awesome site! I found it as I needed to refresh myself on the Albright knot to attach flying to backing for my new 12 weight.

  • Terry B. (Saturday, August 29, 2015 at 8:48 am)

    Thank you for this fantastic series - I found it just the other day when checking on some fishing knots. The presentations are perfectly easy to follow and I can do so at my own pace and check everything. This is a wonderful example of a clear and well presented site. You are to be congratulated. :-)

  • Timothy W. (Saturday, July 29, 2006 12:14 am)

    I just wanted to say "Thank You!". I have found your site extremely helpful, informative & well laid out. May your efforts to share with others be returned to you ten-fold! THANK YOU!

  • Todd E. (Friday, April 7, 2006 8:55 am)

    This website is awesome! My Dad has been trying to teach me knots for years without success, but I was able to pick up a few basic knots from your site within days. Great job-very helpful!!!

  • Todd K. (Wednesday, February 22, 2006 12:58 pm)

    This is absolutely the best site I have found concerning all things rope and knot.

  • Tom H. (Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 1:32 pm)

    I love this site. Thank you

  • Tom M. (Sunday, December 4, 2005 11:05 am)

    Your website is - BY FAR - the most excellent means I have ever seen for teaching the critical art of knotcraft. Keep up the good work!!

  • Tom S. (Wednesday, October 25, 2006 7:03 am)

    I think this site is great, very well done and very informative.

  • Tony H. (Saturday, May 6, 2006 9:47 pm)

    I have just come across this website and I LOVE IT. I am delighted with your work and you can rest assured that you have created something that is not only useful, but possibly life-saving. Very well done and thank you.

  • Toto. (Monday, May 8, 2006 4:07 pm)

    I think a lot of people use this site with pleasure. How many said thanks? Because it is really good. I am very glad to see when somebody works for other people for free. Thanks.

  • Travis B. (Wednesday, Deceember 15, 2010 at 12:04 pm)

    Thanks for a GREAT website!

  • Travis C. (Thursday, October 21, 2010 at 12:34 am)

    Thanks for the great resource. I have learned a lot of very helpful things from this site.

  • Vince B. (Thursday, June 29, 2017 8:45 am)

    Just a 'thanks again' for making this resource so available and so clear. It has saved me literally months of explanation and typing when someone asks, "How do I tie a...", and at my age, that's a BIG thing!

  • Webb B. (Tuesday, September 26, 2006 9:18 am)

    Your website is awesome! You clearly know your way around a rope and a computer.

  • Will B. (Saturday, February 11, 2006 3:58 am)

    No reply needed. This is one of the most informative sites I have ever found. I work as a stagehand with a specialty in computerized lighting systems, and I will *definitely* give this site to newbies. I came up through circuses, and I wish I had this site then.

  • Y M. (Sunday, August 3, 2014 at 1:43 pm)

    I have really enjoyed the educational value of your site. You undoubtedly have the best knot site on the web. Thanks !

  • YMan. (Monday, December 5, 2016 at 8:37 pm)

    I'd like to thank you Grog for all you've done on this site for the knot tying world. This site is solely responsible for getting me into knot tying. I call it my fav "Micro Hobby" because learning knots is a pretty inexpensive hobby requiring no more than a piece or two of rope. But it's a very useful skill I wish I had obtained years earlier. Keep up the good work!!!

Disclaimer: Any activity that involves ropes is potentially hazardous. Lives may be at risk - possibly your own. Considerable attention and effort have been made to ensure that these descriptions are accurate. However, many critical factors cannot be controlled, including: the choice of materials; the age, size, and condition of ropes; and the accuracy with which these descriptions have been followed. No responsibility is accepted for incidents arising from the use of this material.

Copyright
© 2007 - 2017
All Rights Reserved
Grog LLC

Switch to:
Mobile
Version

Copyright and
Trademark

Version 7.0
May 21, 2017
Passport Studio

Half Price Offer

Rope Chafe Wear Pads
Adhesive Stainless Steel
Prevent Fiberglass Chafe. WearPad Order Wear Pads